Founding Partners

The Edinburgh International Culture Summit was established in 2012 by:

British Council

Edinburgh International Festival

Scottish Government

Scottish Parliament

UK Government: Department for Culture, Media & Sport


Strategic Board

The Edinburgh International Culture Summit founding partners are represented by a Strategic Board, comprising:

Sir Ciaran Devane, Chief Executive, British Council

Fergus Linehan, Director, Edinburgh International Festival

Fiona Hyslop MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

Ken Macintosh MSP, The Presiding Officer, The Scottish Parliament

Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Media & Sport


Foundation Trustees

The Edinburgh International Culture Summit Foundation was formed in 2014 to support the ambition of establishing the Edinburgh International Culture Summit as an important biennial forum in which artists, cultural leaders and government ministers together to discuss substantial, global issues of mutual interest during the Edinburgh Festivals.

Sir Angus Grossart, CBE, QC (Chair)

Joanna Baker

Douglas Connell

Benny Higgins

The Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws, QC

Dame Seona Reid, DBE

Professor Louise Richardson

Andrew Wilson



Programme Director: Sir Jonathan Mills, AO

Programme Advisors: Sir John Elvidge, KCB and Rod Pryde OBE

Executive Producer: Ben Spencer

Programme Manager: Marie Nivaigne

Partner Liaison Co-ordinator: Laura Stewart

Delegate Liaison Manager: Elisa de Waal

Delegate / Participant Liaison Officer: Tom Chrystal 

Delegation (in country liaison) Co-ordinator: Naomi Rayner

Logistics Manager: Vikki Little

Youth Forum Manager: Faye Harland

Volunteer Co-ordinator: Nicole Noble



The Edinburgh International Culture Summit would like to thank the following individuals for their assistance in the delivery of Summit 2016:

Lloyd Anderson / Jacqueline Killeen, Director, British Council Scotland 

Lisa Craig, Executive Producer (2015)

Rebecca Clutterbuck, Head of Arts and Culture Projects, DCMS

Roy Devon, Head of Events and Exhibitions, The Scottish Parliament

Dominic Lake, Deputy Director of Arts, Libraries & Cultural Property, DCMS

Ewan Mackenzie, Head of Engagement, Culture & Historic Environment, Scottish Government

Diane McLafferty, Deputy Director of Culture & Historic Environment, Scottish Government

Katie Paterson, Assistant to the Managing Director, Edinburgh International Festival

Laura Stewart, Edinburgh International Culture Summit lead, Scottish Government

Naomi Taylor, Executive Assistant to the Festival Director, Edinburgh International Festival

Fiona Cairns, Sheila Markham and Maureen Mitchell at Noble Grossart


About the 2018 Culture Summit

The Edinburgh International Culture Summit brings together Culture Ministers, artists, thinkers and art leaders from around the world to share ideas, expertise and best practice to inspire positive change in cultural policy and investment. Set against the incomparable backdrop of one of the world's greatest cultural events, the Edinburgh Festivals, the Summit is ideally placed to facilitate conversations between practioners and policy-makers.  


  • maybe add all forms of cultural expression...
    1 week 1 day ago
  • RT @jimhol: Another day another launch! This time for @CultureSummit with partners @edintfest @ScotGovInter @BritishCouncil @DCMSArts @Fion…
    3 weeks 3 days ago